2 years Gap after graduation, how to get into public firm?

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I graduated from school two years ago, just have some intern experience before graduation (half year). After graduation, I had baby and took care of her till now. I have master degree and got CPA passed already. Now I think it is the time to go back to work, but how can I get into public side? The firms seem only favor on campus recruiting for entry level positions. Do I still have a chance to get in?

Really need some suggestions, thank you!

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    waffle_house
    Participant

Are you a BAP member? I remember when I was in school we would have a day with the firms where top firms would come to our university and you could speak with them and give them your resume. Or simply get in contact with a recruiter from a firm and submit your resume. Also you maybe check their website and see if they are hiring. I remember I applied at a big 4 firm with no audit experience just an internship at a non big 4. It was for an experience hire obviously I wasn't experienced because I was working in industry. The recruiter said they would have to bring me on as an “on campus hire” even though I was working at an industry job for a year. Do not believe they only recruit straight out of college BS a lot of folks here will probably tell you. Take a chance and keep looking there is always something out there. You could check with your previous firm you had an internship there I'm sure they are more than willing to have you back if you did well during your internship and now you have your CPA. I think you will be fine.

P.S.

Congrats on your baby and taking care of her and not putting your career first because there are more important things in life than working 12 hour days.

AUD - 80
    BEC - 75
    FAR - 84
    REG - 76
    Exams started Sep 2014 -Exams done Mar 2017

Texas CPA

I put in work, it was evident