30 year old w/ only internship experience looking for entry role?

• Creator
    Topic
    Rivens
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if you would have any advice for me. I am 30, graduated almost 7 years ago, and have been working in different jobs than accounting since I graduated. I have 2 internship experiences, including a year in a public firm but again, that was a while ago.

I am currently self-employed developing websites and I’ve decided that I really want to become an accountant. I am planning to pass the CPA in about a 5 month window to give myself a resume boost as well as show employers that I am serious about becoming an accountant.

I know I would be competing against fresh graduates with good GPAs and fresher experience, so I know I am at a disadvantage.

Any tips for me in terms of timing or job prospects or resume builders or job experience opportunities would be helpful. Thank you.

Brah u srs
    FAR - 85
    BEC - 77
    AUD - 71 -> 61 -> 71 -> 67
    REG - 75

Viewing 11 replies - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    fuzyfro89
    Participant

If I were an employer, and I saw a web-developer who studied accounting 5+ years ago applying for an accounting related position today, I'd have the very obvious question going through my mind: “Why now?”.

If they have other candidates available who are less risky, then you're probably going to the bottom of the pile. Your challenge is to get in front of people and SELL yourself.

If I were in your shoes, I'd focus completely on passing the exams. If you can pass all of them (ideally), or at least 2 of them, it will go a long way to show that you are serious about changing your career. More importantly, it will demonstrate that you haven't forgotten all your accounting knowledge.

Age isn't important. It's not legal for an employer to ask in most (all?) states. No need to bring it up.

Track55
    Participant