45 Years Old & Still Trying

• Creator
    Topic
    PSILUVU2
    Participant

I’ve been taking the exams off and on since 2007 and I finally passed Auditing with an 83. I have since taken Regulations twice and each time scored a 73.

Auditing expires in January 2017. You know the rule, if I don’t pass the other three exams before Auditing expires, I start over.

Am I wasting my time? I have two years accounting experience as a Revenue Analyst. That experience was gained over 8 years ago. I’m 45 years old. Who will hire me in the event I eventually pass all four exams?

The money I’m spending on the exams and the time spent studying could be spent enjoying life?

What are the chances at my age, with my experience and with my license to practice accounting of getting hired? If, I am hired, will the benefits outweigh the cost?

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Missy
    Participant

What do you mean at your age? Unless you're exceptionally lucky you've got 20-25 years (nearly half your professional career) ahead of you. What you make of those years is what you need to decide.

Old timer,  A71'er since 2010.

Finance manager/HR manager

Licensed Massachusetts Non Reporting CPA since 2012
    Finance/Admin/HR Manager

csvirk
    Participant

There are people who are above 50 and passed all the sections. You definitely have chance to get hired and practice. Work hard and put all your effort in it. YOU CAN DO IT.

What was the difference in AUD preparation compare to REG? How much time spend on studying?

AUD - 80
    BEC - 86
    FAR - 77
    REG - 84
    Hardwork will always pay off!

FAR: 71, 77!
    AUD: 69, 80
    BEC: 72
    REG: 84

monikernc
    Participant

we all struggle. for me it is getting hired to obtain the experience required.