Memorizing BEC Formulas?

• Creator
    Topic
    CRYINGINSIDE
    Participant

Hello,

Are the ratio formulas given on the test, especially in SIMS? Or do I really have to memorize like 30+ sets of formulas?

If someone has taken BEC recently can help me out, that would be great!!

Thank you in advance!

AUD - NINJA in Training
    BEC - NINJA in Training
    FAR - 76
    REG - NINJA in Training
    It's an accrual world for us CPA Candidates.
Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Cartman
    Participant

I am studying for BEC rn. From what I have seen on the CPA forums, they usually give you the ratios unless its a MC problem. There are some tips for memorizing them just in case.

Turnover ratios: INV= COGS/ Avg Inv

Days in INV: Ending Inv/ (COGS/365)

Return on Assets: Net income/ Avg Assets

Its all about understanding the relation between the accounts in each ratio, and the purpose behind the ratio itself. If you can grasp the relationships then you will be able to remember them with ease.

Puppykoala
    Participant

write the formula on flashcards and look at them when you sit on the toilet. Guaranteed you will get them imprinted on your brain.

Shoot for the stars!

FAR 88 04/19

REG 95 07/19

BEC 91 11/19

AUD 88 12/19

CRYINGINSIDE
    Participant

Thanks guys!

AUD - NINJA in Training
    BEC - NINJA in Training
    FAR - 76
    REG - NINJA in Training
    It's an accrual world for us CPA Candidates.
    Maverick
    Participant

Do not waste your time memorizing formulas. As said above, the sims give you the formulas. Most of the formula names tell you exactly what they are. It is more important to understand the big picture concepts. I'd spend time on COSO and IT and then brush up on any other weak areas.

AUD - 87
    BEC - 78
    FAR - 83
    REG - 88
    Studying with Becker.
    Biff Tannen
    Participant

Heres what worked for me:
    – Buy yourself a couple of note pads and index cards.