BEC 38

• Creator
    Topic
    Larrie2020
    Participant

I took BEC in early November and I failed miserably. I got 38! I know it is embarrassingly low especially given that I studied for 9 weeks about 15-20 hours a week. I clearly didn’t have the right approach and learned nothing. I told myself that I will keep studying and trying until I pass. Usually the recommendation is to go back and retake the exam, but I truly struggle with BEC and feel like I have gotten to a point where I have memorized the Becker mcq vs actually understanding. I’m considering to take AUD next instead. Would you recommend that? I’m hoping that the shorter lectures and less formulas might be easier for me to comprehend, but I also know that at the core of the problem is my studying style or lack off. What would you recommend other than giving up on the cpa exam all together. for reference, I graduated college 10 years ago and am working in industry as senior accountant.
    Thank you for your feedback.

Viewing 9 replies - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    bigstakk
    Participant

I used GLEIM and passed all 4 exams first try. Becker is hit or miss with certain subjects and I’ve notice It may not cover BEC all that great. With any exam materials if you go over the questions enough you will get to a point where you are just seeing the same questions over and over again. You should only go over the practice problems for each section not more than twice before your final review. Otherwise you’ll be just seeing familiar questions and remember the answers and learn nothing. Sounds like you need to supplement with something else at this point. GL!

AUD - 81
    BEC - 87
    FAR - 80
    REG - 82

Ethics Exam - 90%
    Licensed CPA in CA

Kevin
    Participant