Am I being underpaid?

• Creator
    Topic
    cpainva
    Participant

I am working at a VERY small public accounting practice that mainly does tax work (2 partners, 2 part time CPAs including myself, and 2 staff accountants and an office mgr). One of the partners is retiring soon. I am currently in my third tax season with this place and have had my CPA for 2 years and a couple of months. I have 6 years QuickBooks/bookkeeping experience and I have an MBA (15 years ago – I took a break to have 4 kids and stayed home with them for 10 years and got my CPA while I was home). Anyhow, I am currently working part time – about 20 hours a week and I make $23.50/hr. I started at $20/hr, bumped up to $22.50 and then last spring got a raise to $23.50. We live in VA but not northern VA so average cost of living. Not rural but not metropolitan. They are VERY flexible with how much I want to work and do not offer ANY benefits (no health – nothing). I feel so underpaid and its starting to drive me crazy but I can find out if I really am being underpaid or not…any input?

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    gmbeckner42
    Participant

Honestly… yes.. That's pocket change. We have 23 year olds at my firm with no experience or CPA yet that start at $30 an hour and full benefits, 4 weeks PTO, 4 months paid maternity/paternity leave, etc. You deserve more.

DocJ
    Participant

You have at least 3 years/busy seasons at this place, a CPA license, a MBA, 6 years in Quickbooks/bookkeeping, and all you got is 20 hours, no benefits, and $23.50?

You're getting hosed, man. Sooooo badly hosed. I mean, I know C-suite people who have your literal exact qualifications and experience. You should be mad as hell at how much you're being taken advantage of.

Stop whatever you're doing and get your arse to work on your resume and apply everywhere right now.

Biff Tannen
    Participant

Yes

AUD - 78
    BEC - 84
    FAR - 79
    REG - 85