Can I survive at a CPA Firm without any Bookkeeping Experience

• Creator
    Topic
    Felix The Cat
    Participant

Good Morning,

I do not have any bookkeeping experience, however I have an accounting degree and completed some quickbooks “real world” practical courses ( I understand the month end close process, performed bank recs in courses- but have never prepared it in real life) .

I did volunteer for a CPA firm for two weeks where I did some very basic NTR/Compilation engagements on Caseware a few years ago: I understand the denotation (AA,FF etc).

My question is do you think I would be able to successfully complete basic NTR/Compilation engagements without any actual bookkeeping experience? Assuming I was a small CPA firm.

This is causing me quite some anxiety, thank you for your honest advice.

Thanks and have a great day,
    FTC

Havent decided when I will be writing BEC, FAR, REG, AUD
Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Anthony
    Participant

It's not rocket science. As long as you get some training and ask questions you should be fine.

AUD - 82
    BEC - 80
    FAR - 81
    REG - 82
    FAR - 74 first attempt
    vbmer
    Participant

If a CPA firm hires you without any experience, they don't expect you to know anything. You'll be fine.

AUD - 79
    BEC - 88
    FAR - 89
    REG - 80
    Manager, Big 4 Corporate Finance, CPA (WA)
    AusNat
    Participant

Those things can be taught easily when you've got a good grasp of accounting principles. As long as you didn't/don't mislead them about your experience, you should be fine.

AUD - 94
    BEC - 90
    FAR - 95
    REG - NINJA in Training
    Are we there yet?

Waiting impatiently on my last score.

Felix The Cat
    Participant

Good Morning,

Thank you for your reply. I did put on my resume that I had 6 months of bookkeeping experience.