Career Advice

• Creator
    Topic
    AnotherCPA
    Participant

Hello everyone! I just need to ask forum’s opinion on my current career situation and how to proceed. I am a CPA licensed in Alabama and currently working part-time for another CPA – just two people firm – me and another CPA. I’m paid $30 an hour and working approximately 15-20 hours a week, will be less after the tax season. Another plus is (or was) is that I always had few bookkeeping clients on the side and maybe 5 tax returns or so during tax season. She always would let me use Quickbooks and Drake to do bookkeeping and tax returns. I’ve been working for her through college and my CPA adventure – around total of eight years. Last month I received my CPA license and my employer told me that I can start working on building up my clients and when I have “enough” we can combine. BUT yesterday she told me she wants me to pay percentage of the firm’s overhead asap like rent, software, fax, phones, liability insurance etc. because I’m doing bookkeeping on the side. (I’m making maybe 6,000 a year on the side).I’m really confused why would she want me for example to pay rent if I don’t bring my clients in the office? Or her phones and emails, some software she uses I don’t use any of that stuff. My question is – should I just leave her and do everything on my own? I feel like she’s got a bargain $30 an hour and she wants me to be available every day to login to work from home as needed (she texts me). Is $30 an hour sufficient compensation for a CPA? Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome! Thank you 🙏

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Recked
    Participant

So this is an interesting prospect.
    It sounds like she's offering for you to basically be self-employed with your own clients/book of business, and cover a % of expenses.