Leave a Perm position for a contract?

• Creator
    Topic
    Chloe
    Participant

Hi everybody,

I’ve been thinking there will be no worries after passing my CPA but there are more and more worries for jobs after. I’ve been working at a public practice for over 4 years which is a mid size firm with 4,500 employees across the country. I know it is a bad timing for leaving the firm for a temp job (6 months); however, I have nothing to learn in the current position and no future. My partner keeps on manipulating me as you will be a manager next year since you just got your CPA blabla but guess what nothing happened afterwards. I am tired of being treated this way. They don’t give me challenging work like provisions. During my performance review, the management tried to find out my mistakes which are like “oh you need to improve Nexus/PE researches and don’t worry. you will be a manager next year.”

Last month, a recruiter reached out to me for a position that was supposed to be a perm but the company does not know if they have enough work after 6 months and the management hasn’t approved a budget to hire a perm employee so it becomes a temp job. There were 3 interviews for this 6 months contract which is unusual.