New job – no idea what I am doing

• Creator
    Topic
    Pakpak
    Participant

I started a new job at a top regional firm last week. My first few days consisted of onboarding but the latter half of that week I was given work and it was hell. I was coming home at 10 PM working 12 hour day. No real training of processes, programs, or software. They just said ask if you have questions.

Little background about myself. I have 3 yrs of experience in tax. All of it with individual tax returns. I may have embellished a little on my resume and during the interview that I know a some corporate tax. In reality, I did one S Corp 2 years ago and had no idea what I was doing. But I feel like I needed to embellish during the interview to have the opportunity to learn how to do corporate acct&tax.

At first they were giving me individual tax returns, and I was able to do them (even if it took 2-3×s the billable budget – I’m thinking this will speed up over time). But end of last week they gave me a list of complex c corps to work on. I’m thinking, okay, I’ll look at the prior year over the weekend and figure it out. Weekend comes and I can’t find last year’s workpapers or documents in their damn software. I still don’t know how to navigate.

I am so lost, confused and don’t know where to start. Even had a few sleepless nights last week. Now I have to do these Corp returns that I have no idea how to do on top of not knowing their software, programs, or processes. I feel like I am going to be sitting at my desk for 12 hours not getting anything done tomorrow. I am stressed and panicking hard.