Finish CMA or move on to CPA?

• Creator
    Topic
    Abby
    Participant

Hi everyone, I am hoping for some advice from people who actually understand the difficulty of this exam. I try talking to my spouse but he doesn’t truly understand. Anyway, back in college I received a scholarship to take the CMA exam with all costs included even the exam study material. The IMA provides Wiley and I find it a good tool for studying. I have previously taken both part 1 and part 2 of the exam and I only came close on part 2. Now I have until September to pass both parts of the exam and my scholarship stipulates that for my first retake I can pay half price which is $200 for each so $400. I have always wanted to be a CMA, CPA and since I have not passed any of the CPA exams my clock is not ticking yet. However, my employers want me to finish the CPA and have been waiting for me to do so since I graduated in 2017. I have this May-June testing window and September to study and pass both parts of the CMA. I thought it would be smart to get the CMA out of the way then start studying again for the CPA.

Can anyone tell me if I am wasting my time with the CMA? I know it is just a certification but I want those added initials behind my name.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    alloverit
    Participant

What field are you in currently? What are your long-term career goals?

FAR 81

AUD 83

BEC 93

REG 84

Ross

B4BeanCounter
    Participant

@Abby – I'm going for it so I can remain competitive. There are already enough people with CPAs. I got the same Wiley CMA review course at no cost, so why not? But since you haven't passed your CPA exam yet, I'd recommend you get that out of the way first as CPA will always be the gold standard regardless of whether you're going into public accounting or industry.

AUD - 86
    BEC - 87
    FAR - 87
    REG - 84