What to do after CPA?

• Creator
    Topic
    jenpen
    Participant

Hello hello! I am looking for some advice, but first I’ll give a little background…I have been working in accounting for 5 years. First 4 in a small CPA firm doing everything from audit to tax to payroll, 1 year in a midsize firm as tax staff, and now I am at a family office as a tax and advisory senior. I have my MBA and finally passed the CPA last year.

Now that I’ve been done for awhile, I’m starting to feel that itch to study or go back to school, but I’m not really sure what I should do. My husband suggested maybe the CMA exam, and I think that would be a good option. It won’t help me in my current job, but could potentially be useful in the future. Are there any other designations I should look at? I would appreciate any and all advice!

AUD - 85
    BEC - 84
    FAR - 82
    REG - 78
    Ethics - 95
    Licensed in IL & MO

AUD - 56 - 68 - 61 - 9/8/16
    REG - 75
    FAR - 7/15/16
    BEC - TBD

Wiley CPAexcel and NINJA 10 Point Combo

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Mae
    Participant

I have the same problem. After a year or two of no studying or schooling, I get bored and start looking around for something.

I just signed up for some graduate classes in accounting analytics. I think Data Science is going to be a field that will grow and become a way of life in the future of accounting.

Good Luck on your search!

AUD - PASSED MAR '15
    REG - STUDYING SEP '16
    FAR - PASSED MAY '16
    BEC - PENDING JUL '16

Akashi
    Participant