EA designation worth it? Licensed attorney + passed CPA exams

• Creator
    Topic
    dgg135
    Participant

Hello everyone:

I’m a licensed and experienced attorney and passed the CPA exams this year. I’m trying to get a position in public accounting specializing in tax, and I’m struggling to get noticed.

I am going to be taking a tax preparation course so I will get the necessary Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) and then I’ll be getting some hands on experience since my lack of experience seems to be an issue and any experience is better than no experience. I’m considering also sitting for the EA exams. I like how I get the designation right after I pass without work experience. Does anyone have any thoughts on such an approach?

I just want to get into tax and find this process and wait to be frustrating. Thank you.

AUD - 81
    BEC - 85
    FAR - 77
    REG - 80
    Licensed Attorney. Soon to be licensed cpa as well.

Far (April 2018)70, (September 2018)77

Aud (May 2018) 81

Bec (June 2018) 85

Reg (July 2018) 80

Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Small4
    Participant

if you have the time, it never hurts. However, as someone that has it, the CPA designation is basically the license that really resonates to employers. Your law degree should too no right? essentially you are able to represent clients to the IRS with an EA, but CPA is more widely known. My suggestion is…once you get that CPA, you will think the EA will be somewaht redundant. It does help to have those EA license etc when needing to put something “in the meantime” as you wait for your CPA…but if you can sense they are both arriving at the same time, I really would think CPA is the way to go.

AUD - 77
    BEC - 75
    FAR - 82
    REG - 77
    -Becker (do all mcq, period),
    -Buy NINJA mcq (68% trend), and
    -PRINT trouble topics.

-Also Used WTB mcq (68% trend).