Is 2.5 months studying for FAR too long? How long did it take you to pass FAR?

• Creator
    Topic
    Accountant
    Participant

I have decided to sit for the FAR section of the CPA and it has been while since I took a class a financial reporting course. I am planning to take the exam at the end of June which gives me about 2.5 months studying for the exam. On a side note I will not be working at the time of me studying for this exam. So, I wanted to know how long did it take you to pass FAR and do you think 2.5 months too long for far?

I am just new to the CPA exams and any advice is appreciated.

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Icarito
    Participant

That is about the perfect amount of time. 10 weeks. Anything longer than that is too long in my opinion. You might be able to do it in less time if you are full time studying.

Some stuff will come back to you once you start studying. I went 10 years inbetween my last financial acct college course and studying for exam and some stuff came back to me quickly.

FAR - 80 (4/1/2019)

BEC - 82 (9/7/2019)

AUD - 81 (11/23/2019)

REG - 94 (3/9/2020)

Recked
    Participant

10 weeks worked for me.

Memento Mori - Kingston NY CPA & EA (SUNY Albany 2002)

FAR-93 11/9/17 (10wks, 250 hrs, Roger 1800+ MCQs, Gleim TB 600+MCQs, SIMs)
    AUD-88 12/7/17 (3 wks, 85 hrs, Roger 1000 MCQs no SIMs hail mary)
    REG-96 1/18/18 (6 wks, 110 hrs, 1400 MCQs, no SIMs)
    BEC-91 2/16/18 (4wks, 90 hrs, 1240 MCQs)

vbmer
    Participant

That seems like an ideal amount of time to me.

AUD - 79
    BEC - 88
    FAR - 89
    REG - 80
    Manager, Big 4 Corporate Finance, CPA (WA)
    Tncincy
    Participant