FAR EXAM

• Creator
    Topic
    Alexandr
    Participant

Hello, everyone. I am brand new to this forum. I am a recent graduate and just started studying for the FAR exam beginning January 1st. Solid B student in my accounting classes. I am using Roger CPA. My study method so far had been to watch the lectures and then read about that specific chapter. Afterward, I would do a 15 question test on the chapter that I studied and have been averaging around 60%. Is it too low of a score or am I overthinking it? Today I have decided to take a 33 question exam on ch 1-8 that I have completed and scored a 48% and feel like a did not retain much of the information. I have been studying around 5 hours a day and only work around 20 hours a week so I have a lot of free time. Should I study more daily? Should I try to do all the multiple-choice questions from each chapter? Any advice would be helpful!

I do not know when I will sit for the exam yet. I hope my official transcripts will be available next week and I am in California and I heard they take forever so I am hoping I will be able to sit at the beginning of March before the blackout period.

Viewing 10 replies - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    vbmer
    Participant

I used Roger. You should be getting at least about 80% of MCQs right to be confident you're getting the material. I suggest you hammer MCQs, review topics that you are performing poorly in, and repeat until you get your MCQ score up to at least 80-85%. I think I went through all of the Roger MCQs in all of the major topics for FAR.

AUD - 79
    BEC - 88
    FAR - 89
    REG - 80
    Manager, Big 4 Corporate Finance, CPA (WA)
    mb
    Participant