Studying Time for Parents?

• Creator
    Topic
    Kelly
    Participant

I received my NTS and can schedule for FAR as late as 06/18/2020. This is my first exam, and I plan on using Gleim and supplementing with Ninja.

I have two young kids (ages five and three), I’m older than the typical test taker (age 36, graduated in 2016); and other than listening to audio files, I can only study at work during my lunch break. I plan on studying in the morning before work and doing the brunt of studying on the weekends.

For parents who work full-time and passed a section, how many weeks did you set aside for studying? TIA.

"Surround yourself with assets, not liabilities."
Viewing 9 replies - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Otis
    Participant

I’m in my forties, have two young children, a very demanding job, and my wife also works. I started studying hard in Oct 2018, and took FAR in early Feb of this year, REG at beginning of June, and BEC at the end of Nov. Took most of the summer off from studying though. Passed all 3 first time… so far so good.

I won’t lie to you. It’s been brutal on us all and we joke that my wife has been a single parent for the last twelve months. I work ridiculous hours during the week so maybe only get 5-6 hours in M-F, then it’s full time on the weekends. I estimate I put in 150-175+ hours for FAR, 125-150 for REG, and maybe 100 for BEC. I’d say plan on the most for FAR (3-4 months) and 2-3 for the rest. I’m the kind of person though that measures every minute, e.g. if you ask me how long to get somewhere I measure door to door, not just drive time.

If I were to do it over again, only thing I’d change is test order: FAR, then AUD, BEC, and REG in that order.

Good luck to you and keep your head up. I’m seeing the light at the end of the tunnel now but remember all too clearly how overwhelming it felt when I started.

AUD - 86
    BEC - 96
    FAR - 85
    REG - 78
    Better late than never!
    Biff Tannen
    Participant