Canadian Applying to NASBA➡ Do I have to apply to NASBA international?

• Creator
    Topic
    Felix The Cat
    Participant

Good Morning,

I am a Canadian whom has graduated from the University of Toronto business administration program (streaming in accounting), and have completed a few courses at other universities.

I understand I most likely would be required to earn a credit in an American tax course, and perhaps some other courses.

As the title states, would I be required to apply to the NASBA International Branch, or would I be able to apply to the main NASBA branch? (as if I was an American).

Questions:

1. IF I have a business degree from Ontario, what additional courses do you think? I would have to do? ( I have completed personal and corporate tax, advanced financial accounting, and auditing amongst others).

2. Is there anything at all possible that you believe I should be aware of?

3. Are there any Canadians here who would know which Canadian Universities NASBA would approve of? (Aside from Athabasca)

I know NASBA takes a long time to reply. I intend to Apply to CPA Illinois.

Thank you for carefully reading my post and making a useful reply.

Havent decided when I will be writing BEC, FAR, REG, AUD
Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    NoName
    Participant

CPA licenses like other professional licenses are issued at a state level and each state has different rules (for example, some states require a masters degree in accounting and some do not (for example, California does not require a masters degree).

I would recommend reading up on the rules of the state where you plan to apply (you don't want to be caught off guard by missing education requirements or other things).

Most of the of the foreign folks I have encountered who have a CPA license are residents of my state (as in they are living here) which differs from your situation.

REG - 93 90% Gleim MCQ/book + 10% Wiley MCQ

BEC - 79 100% Wiley MCQ/book