Got BS Accountancy from Philippines seeking help to get US CPA

• Creator
    Topic
    grace
    Participant

Hi! I am new here. Can anyone help me with my situation? I graduated BS Accountancy at University of the East Manila, Philippines 2014 and moved here in Minnesota, US last 2016. I came across an article stating that I can actually acquire a CPA license in the US. I already checked NASBA and read the state requirements but some information are confusing. Their library where I am supposed to get more info charges fee. I am currently enrolled at a state university here in Minnesota finishing liberal education courses. I am a permanent resident also.
    1. Can anyone walk me through or tell me the step by step process I should do?
    2. Based on your experience, 120 or 150 credits how did your evaluation go? I mean how long did it take for you to fulfill the 120 or 150 credits before you can actually sit for the CPA exam?
    3. what is the 24 credit hours? is it on top of 120 or 150 credits?
    4. Did you apply for financial aid assistance (FAFSA) did they approve it or not?

thanks
Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    J King
    Participant

You might have to send your transcript to your state board to check if you are qualified. You will either get an email (if you opted to receive email) that you can sit, or a direct mail, informing you that you don't have sufficient units to sit. They are probably going to translate the units you have taken from where you graduated into units here in US (not sure). I graduated in CA with Accounting degree and I was qualified. I'd say it depends on the university to acquire 150 units only from finishing undergraduate.

FAR - 65 (Planned rematch on Apr/May 2018 'cuz CalBOA is turtle slow)
    AUD - 2/10/18 (Roger MCQ/TBS, 5 weeks prep) - Pending...
    REG - TBD
    BEC - TBD

Joshua 1:9

grace
    Participant