Accounting Ethics course requirement

• Creator
    Topic
    Larry
    Participant

Received a rejection letter from California to my CPA application. It said I needed an “Accounting Ethics class taken at an upper-divisional or higher level, or at a community college”. I took Ethics as a sophomore as part of my undergrad accounting degree. I got my degree before “Accounting ethics” was required, so back then my school just called it “Ethics”.

I called the head of CA’s licensing group, who is new and has no experienced interpreting this rule. She promised to think about my questions, but am guessing she will take the safe route and require I take an “Accounting Ethics” class. Wanted to ask if anyone has been through these issues, and has any advice.

Also, does anyone have suggestions for on-line community college courses that are easy to get enroll in and can be completed at an acellerated pace? I’d like to complete the course as fast as possible.

Thanks!

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    mvhoover
    Participant

Texas tried to do the same thing to me, so I licensed in Utah first. I did all my schooling in Utah, so that helped, but the key ingredient for Texas was also an Ethics course they said I had to go back to school and take.

However, Texas told me that if I successfully licensed in Utah, I would not need to go back to school for Ethics and I could just transfer my license to Texas for a fee and then do all of their licensure requirements (Take a 4 hour CPE in ethics and get my fingerprints done) Maybe see if California would let you do that? NASBA can transfer your scores to a different state, see if there is a state that you meet all the requirements for. Best of luck.

AUD - 76
    BEC - 87
    FAR - 75
    REG - 84
    Licensed CPA, Utah
    Shannon
    Participant