Affordable and Easy To Use Tax Software

• Creator
    Topic
    PackerBacker12
    Participant

I have some clients lined up on the side and I would like to do their tax returns for them. Any tax software that people can recommend which is easy to use and at the same time affordable? At work I use Lacerte but looking up their pay-per-return option, they charge somewhere around $360 for the software and another $75 to file a return (Federal and one State). I’ve heard some people mention Drake and TaxAct but I have no experience with those software.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Recked
    Participant

Drake is probably one of the most used and cheapest, and TaxAct I've heard is good as well.
    I use UltraTax at work, and went with their PRP for my side practice as well.
    About the same for a license and 65/75 for personal/business.
    It costs more, but using something you are familiar with, that might prevent an error and saves your reputation. The trade off on $$ was worth it to me to protect my reputation.
    My average return this year has been about $677, the $$$ corp returns obviously skew the average, but if I'm spending $100 per return, and making 577 per return? That's okay by me.
    Normal minimum for me is $300 on a personal and $750 on a business, $300/hour.
    The cheapest personal I did was $175 for a lady with e kids, EIC return, and she lost her job.
    Some friends and family got the $200 discounted rate.

Don't undersell your services. Don't fill your book with small $$ returns, you'll end up working like a dog for very little money with tons of exposure and risk as you need to process the returns very quickly to make it worth your while.
    You're better off setting a higher price rate and missing out on some of the lower ones. You simply cannot compete on price with big blocks stores, or uncertified/unregistered preparers.