Career Paths and Advice Post CPA

• Creator
    Topic
    David
    Participant

Hi All,

I figured I’d try asking in the forum with so many CPA’s and hopefully soon to be CPA’s on here. I have 2 years regional firm experience in expat taxation / global employer services as well as 7 months at Big 4 in the same area. I have now recently passed my CPA exam and it took me 2 years to do accomplish that. I had left my most recent employer to focus on the exam and now have that lapse or time gap on my resume. Is this going to be a hard point to sell since it took me so long? I’m wondering what the best career paths are for me going forward, whether it be returning to public as an experienced associate and getting some corporate tax knowledge under my belt. What are the best roles going forward to be in corporate or maybe what exactly does the financial analyst position consist of? I’m trying to figure out when switching to industry or corporate what positions are the best. I do enjoy tax and think I’d personally like to go more corporate side of things than expat tax because I feel expat tax and international tax are more niche. I currently have an opportunity at a solid industry company in California but it’s in international tax. I’m not sure if I want to be in international tax (better than expat in my opinion) long term and I feel like now would be a good time to transition out of that area. However, I do have a good opportunity right now that may pay well also. Do I just take it even though it’s international tax that I don’t want to be in to close the time gap?

Thanks so much for any advice ahead of time, I know it’s a lot but I could use any advice or help.

AUD - 82
    BEC - 80
    FAR - 79
    REG - 75
    “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Recked
    Participant