1 year in Public Enough?

• Creator
    Topic
    Bobsacajawillie
    Participant

Is one year in public accounting enough? I’m 3 months in and it really sucks. Would i be able to get a cushy job in industry with having the cpa and a year of public experience? I have 2 years of industry accounting experience already, and have passed all four and parts so I can get licensed, but i was making less than I am now in public. So I’m hoping with the cpa and a year if public experience that I can leverage a more chill higher paying job

AUD - 81
    BEC - 86
    FAR - 79
    REG - 81
    Fly you fools!
Viewing 5 replies - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Icarito
    Participant

In my opinion, as someone who only stayed 1 year in public, it is not enough. Either stay 5 years, grow your expertise in 1 or a couple of areas, and then bounce, or move asap.

You learn things in public that are not possible to learn in industry, but the work life balance in industry doesn't compare, it's much better.

FAR - 80 (4/1/2019)

BEC - 82 (9/7/2019)

AUD - 81 (11/23/2019)

REG - 94 (3/9/2020)

bigstakk
    Participant

You just need about 3yrs to really have the experience matter from my experience. Most jobs requiring public usually state the same. That's how much I have and I don't plan to go back and it has not affected me in any way and has given me an advantage for jobs. 5yrs would be great if you have the stamina, but with the right mix of public and private you can manage a nice career regardless as other factors usually dictate your ability to move up in a company or in a job search. You honestly don't really start to make money in accounting until 5-6yrs in, so one year and a CPA won't really do too much for your immediate pay range. Really it isn't until you are closer to 10-12yrs where you can start making more than $150-200K per year.

AUD - 81
    BEC - 87
    FAR - 80
    REG - 82

Ethics Exam - 90%
    Licensed CPA in CA

LuckyGuy292
    Participant