24 accounting unit requirement

• Creator
    Topic
    lindafine

I have two questions regarding the 24 accounting unit prerequisite to sit in for the CPA exams.

I have a bachelor’s degree in economics and now I’m taking evening accounting classes to fulfill the 24 unit requirement. (I already have the 150 semester units of education and 24 units in business). I need to know how strict the AICPA is about the accounting courses.

1. I took a business/accounting course at UC Riverside called “Financial Evaluation and Managerial Analysis” but just by reading the course title, would they reject this as an accounting course for my 24 unit requirement? When you’re registering to take the CPA exams what does the section on the course prereqs ask for? I know that you need to order official transcripts but do you simply list the title of the courses on the application?

2. I took a class called “Intermediate Accounting” at a community college and another class called “Intermediate Financial Accounting and Reporting” at a university. To be honest, both classes taught very similar material but would I be able to apply the credits earned from both classes to my 24 accounting unit requirement?

Any help is appreciated. I need to plan for my last quarter (hopefully) of classes so I can start studying for the exams. Thanks in advance.

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Regarding #1: most likely yes; they may count it as accounting credits.

Regarding #2: definitely no; similar classes taken at the same level but at different universities/colleges count only once.

What you could take is: financial accounting, managerial accounting, intermediate accounting 1&2, auditing, taxation, accounting systems, and anything additional if needed.

bighitter56
    Participant

Lindafine, what state are you taking the CPA exam in?

BEC- 86
    AUD- 96
    REG- 83
    FAR- soon hopefully