25% through review in a month! Help?

• Creator
    Topic
    Scared-cpa
    Participant

I’m using CPAexcel and I am 1/3 of the way through the book (~1,000 pages) and 26% done with the assignments online.

I’ve been doing this a month, so I need to pick up the pace as I would like to sit for the exam mid-November. I’m a full-time graduate student (4 courses) so I’m having difficulty finding time to do both. I’ve been completing the assignment for the day in Wiley, but because of the first couple weeks of struggling to find a study pattern, I’m 9 days behind schedule.

How can I pick up the pace without neglecting to learn the material thoroughly? Is a thorough understanding of each topic better or a general understanding?
    My study habits right now consist of reading the section, taking MCQs and some TBS, then writing down the questions I don’t understand or get wrong. I’ve stopped watching the videos and taking notes over it because it is just too time consuming. I’m highlighting in the book which is sufficient for me, I believe. I also have not been doing the Diagnostic exams. Should I be doing these or wait til I’m done reviewing the material before I go back through it for a full review?

Please, any tips, comments, and suggestions are welcome!

"The more I practice, the luckier I get."

FAR - 67, 82 (Expires 07/31/18)
    AUD - 68, 79
    REG - 75
    BEC - 82

Wiley CPAexcel + Ninja

I cannot believe I am done.

Viewing 14 replies - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Missy
    Participant

How many hours per week are you spending on studying strictly for the CPA? Are you getting in a solid 25 hours per week? You really need 20+ hours a week to succeed with the exams.

Old timer,  A71'er since 2010.

Finance manager/HR manager

Licensed Massachusetts Non Reporting CPA since 2012
    Finance/Admin/HR Manager

GeauxAwayCPA
    Participant